Life Feels Like a Pandora Commercial

I love Pandora Radio, love the ability to choose a genre that suits my mood. Today’s choice – hymns. I long to focus my distracted heart on Jesus, to proclaim, “How Great Thou Art,” to bask in his “Amazing Grace,” to remember that “This is My Father’s House,” and to pray in earnest, “Be Thou My Vision.” My soul needs to refresh, my ever-whirring mind needs to find a place of rest. 

“The Lord is my shepherd, I have all that I want. He lets me rest in green meadows” (Psalm 23:1-2).”

“HEY PANDORA LISTENER you should get EXACTLY WHAT YOU want! You deserve a SLEEP NUMBER BED! Oh and don’t forget YOU NEED PANDORA in ONE CLICK! Get an overflowing number of choices right now – click on your SCREEN AND go to PANDORA.COM” 

My nearly quieted soul is shattered…I go from worshipping the Creator to wondering, “Maybe we should try a Sleep Number Bed and get exactly what we want. Hmm. Maybe I should try the one-click Pandora ad, an overflowing number of choices might finally do the trick, or better yet pay the $3.99/month for commercial free listening.”

Two things strike me this late Saturday morning, the first: We so need a reprieve from the constant flow of information, entertainment, one-sided interaction. Jesus calls us to abide, to sit at His feet, to take a drink from the deep well of living water. We need to stop, settle, listen, read, to talk to Him. How will we learn he is our source of overflowing satisfaction and true rest, without abiding? The second: our culture shouts, “Get exactly what YOU want.” I am so lured in by the enticement of Pinterest, Tiek’s giveways, a new playlist, Sole Society Shoes, and even the latest theology book. But, really, life cannot be all about consumption – a never-satisfying grab for what? Oh we must wash ourselves with the Truth. 

“He leads me beside peaceful streams. He renews my strength; He guides me along right paths, bringing honor to His name” (Psalm 23:2-3).

Oh to stop, really Stop. Settle. Listen.

Great is His Faithfulness, How Deep the Father’s Love for us, What A Friend We Have in Jesus. 

Image

Leave a Reply

