Lean In & Listen

listenAlthough quite determined and relatively goal oriented, I’m not much for setting New Year’s resolutions. In fact, I can’t remember the last time I made one. I didn’t resolve not to make resolutions, I just haven’t and don’t. I guess it’s because I often wonder, how are we to know what the year will hold? Nonetheless, I’ve been pondering 2014.

364.5 days of the unknown await.

The question I’m considering, “What is my posture as I strain to see what’s ahead?”

The controlling side of my personality wants to get ahead of disaster – get a mammogram, floss every day, toss all treadless flip-flops, drive the speed limit. The change-agent inside has already reworked the master bedroom and can’t wait to reimagine the dining-room. Melancholy me looks at the dark side – the world’s never-ending horrific events – and wants to hole-up somewhere warm and wait out the storm. Adventurer me can’t wait to board my first flight of 2014 and dreams of traveling to exotic places to bask in glorious sunsets  on the other side of the globe. The student inside is ready to devour a long list of books, while more realistic me realizes I must, at the very least, nail down a starting point.

Centuries ago a friend of God prayed, “So teach us to number our days that we may present to You a heart of wisdom” (Psalm 90:12). The Spirit has been whispering this prayer in my ear all day and seems to be saying, “Posture your multi-personality’d self to lean in & listen.”

So, I have my ear to the rail.

What about you?

2 thoughts on “Lean In & Listen

  1. Listening, waiting and watching. I can’t imagine 2014 will be boring, all the “birth-pangs’ we have seen so far mean they will just get closer together and more intense. Looking to our dear Savior!

  2. I love how you described all the different sides of yourself. Nearly every single one of those exact same thoughts have come across my mind in the past couple days as well. It’s so fun to think what the future holds, yet to be fully present today to live all that He has for us.

Leave a Reply

