Life Interrupted

prod-interruption-uctivity-300x186Funny what four weeks can do. After the rude interruption of my little accident, I’ve learned to get dressed, brush my teeth, text, play Diving Stickman, type a research paper, scribble down notes, eat and drink, do some Pilates all with one hand.

Tomorrow morning I hope to get my cast removed and continue the process of healing. The Internet tells us the arm will look weird for awhile…and that this time next year it’ll be back to some sense of normal.

 

Hmmm, interruptions force a pause in the “continuity of things.”

Four weeks ago I had a calendar full of plans and travel, studies and conversations. Mostly none of it happened, and quite a bit got done in very different ways than I thought possible. I’ve looked more closely (and more often) at my FB homepage and prayed much more frequently for “friends” who’ve lost parents, who are battling cancer, for some whose kids have migraines and school programs, for traveling children, job opportunities….

God used this “accidental” intrusion to create space – mental and spiritual – that I didn’t know I needed.

I’ve had time to pray, to reflect on my life’s blessings, to marvel at my husband’s kindness and love, to ruminate on choices and future plans. I’ve been humbled by FB friends in Bangladesh – whom I’ve never met – to encourage me with their prayers. My friend Kate has come by to wash and style my hair several times, and Kai played chauffeur, and Marnie invited us to Thanksgiving dinner. Makes North Carolina feel more like home.

This little disturbance has served to heighten my awareness of the God who sovereignly controls, lovingly cares, and guides, and watches over us all.

Read this with me…listen to His voice…marvel at this jaw-dropping truth….

Psalm 139:1-6 says:

1 O Lord, you examine me and know.
2 You know when I sit down and when I get up;
even from far away you understand my motives.
3 You carefully observe me when I travel or when I lie down to rest;
you are aware of everything I do.
4 Certainly my tongue does not frame a word
without you, O Lord, being thoroughly aware of it.
5 You squeeze me in from behind and in front;
you place your hand on me.
6 Your knowledge is beyond my comprehension;
it is so far beyond me, I am unable to fathom it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

