Ramblings on Fear & Faith

Image

How can a relatively small, accidental fall so radically alter my frame of mind?

I worry about Bob when he goes for a run. I shudder at the thought of the next rainfall or ice storm. I imagine all of the things that could possibly go wrong over the next week, or month, or year. I watch with horror, and (selfish) fear as Brian Williams takes me to the midwest or the Philippines, I can NOT  begin to imagine. At all.

I’ve experienced loss, setbacks, the unknown, grief and suffering before, and I’ve traversed the road of pain with many of you. I don’t like emotional pain. Do you?

I think it’s because…we like being in control and we think we’re in control…we believe a “happy life” is one free from mishap and suffering and we believe this life is the best there is….

Hebrews 11:1-3 says, “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for, being convinced of what we do not see. For by it the people of old received God’s commendation. By faith we understand that the worlds were set in order at God’s command, so that the visible has its origin in the invisible.”

I’ve been reading through the Bible for the past few months, and within its pages is found the very real story of salvation history — from Creation and the Fall to Redemption and Restoration. All along the pathway there’s agony, ecstasy, humiliation, ruination, jubilation, and expectation. Ultimately, the story of the Bible points to God – He exists; the raw footage of humanity reveals this sovereign, generous, loving, holy, just, creating, redeeming God – rewarding those who seek him. And I’ve noticed that whenever someone seeks Him, He is always found. Always.

And another thing, All of humanity wonders ”Why?” And asks, “How? Seems to grapple with, “When?” I love that about God – He created you and me to ask, seek, and knock.

Hebrews 11: 6 says, “Without faith it is impossible to please him, for the one who approaches God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.”

The Scripture makes much of this very personal God, and of the hope that is ours in Christ Jesus. Even taking a minute to peck out a blog reminds me to walk by faith, not by sight.

“Fear not for I Am with you.”

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Ramblings on Fear & Faith

  1. God allows problems in our lives knowing that is the moment He can be supreme in our lives like no other. It is the fertile soil where trust and faith grow in the One who holds everything in His hands.

Leave a Reply

