Asking the hard questions…

photo (7)Today I feel tired of leaning to the left. And, I woke up feeling a wee bit nervous at the prospect of surgery. I so want a healed wrist, and truly am thankful for Dr. J. Mack Aldridge. I’m ready to get this show on the road. But the unknowns, the what ifs and how longs dangle at the periphery.

Then, as I pray for all the storm ravaged people in the Philippines, I’m overwhelmed, humbled by the insignificance of a busted wrist compared to a devastated country. I cannot imagine. Why does God allow such calamity? How will they recover? What about all the children, new babies being born, people in hospitals, stranded, broken…?

My Philosophy professor reminds me (I have 5 lectures to go) that God creates us with an innate ability to ask and inquire regarding our reality. I find that fascinating. God wants us, created us with bright minds that ask WHY? HOW? WHEN? He also positions us to communicate directly with him, he hears our questions, understands our queries. Nothing is too great for Him to bear, nothing too trivial for him to care about.

He can handle our questions.

The prophet Isaiah reminded me, in chapter 55, his ways are not our ways, yet in the midst of the fray – he is with us. Present. Powerful. Gracious. Good. Merciful. Loving. Holy. Healing. Redeeming.

So, I’m praying for followers of Jesus to boldly , carry the message of hope to every corner of that country. For relief workers as they dig through the rubble. For dads, moms, sisters, brothers, friends, co-workers, the lost and homeless, the orphan and widow, to experience God’s mercy and provision in tangible ways. there’s something remarkable about the Gospel of Jesus Christ that redeems and transforms, and makes all things new.

As I peck away, leaning to the left…page 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25. 

Leave a Reply

