Maintenance :: A left-handed POV

Friday, somewhere between meeting Abe McCoy (the fabulously strong, experienced, frank and funny PA who set my bones) and watching the right sleeve of my trendy, Kelly-plaid tunic getting snipped to the shoulder, I started to panic. MY HAIR! How am I going to wash, dry, and maintain my style? My nails! How will I file, base-coat and paint with polish? MY TEETH! How will I floss? My BODY! How will I bathe and shave and exfoliate?

I never noticed how much work it takes to maintain a body!photo (6)

What’s a girl to do? Bob, sweet, sweet man that he is, took me to Great Clips Sunday for a shampoo and blow-dry (his idea). Suffice it to say, we won’t be doing that again. So, yesterday my newly-retired-stylist-extraordinaire, Kate (www.thesmallthingsblog.com), armed with dryer and flatiron, did the deed. I’m hoping she’ll come back – often.

I tended to my left nails with the file held between my knees. My friend Marnie promised to come and paint them soon.

Brushing, flossing, bathing? We are adapting.

Lipstick application – tricky – kind of “lists” to the left.

Oh, and Marnie and I had just said our post-pedicure goodbyes Friday night just prior to my face hitting the pavement (my toes are good to go – such a relief) and Marnie was nearby and took me to Urgent Care – in the driving rain, at rush hour. Honorable mention goes to Charlie who directed Marnie and me, and Bob, simultaneously, to the right location while tending to 3 small children.

In all seriousness, this left-handed twist has heightened my awareness to my own neediness (the trivial and the significant) along with the incredible, kind, generous people in my life. And, to the overwhelming needs around me. Friends and acquaintances who are suffering tremendous loss, chemo, joblessness…Syrians plagued by polio…Africans facing militant armies…Canadians dealing with crazy mayors…. I’m oh so grateful to know the One who never tires of meeting the deepest of needs, smoothing the way, straightening the broken.

 

I read this earlier and have been moved by His invitation, “28 Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke on you and learn from me, because I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy to bear, and my load is not hard to carry” (Matthew 11:28-30).

ROAD TO GRADUATION & PHD APPLICATION DEADLINE: Reached page 15 of research paper today. 4 1/2 lectures to go before Philosophy final. Slogging thru Kaplan’s guide to the MAT. Pray with me for His grace, strength, smarts to finish well and to graduate December 13th…2013.

2 thoughts on “Maintenance :: A left-handed POV

  1. Well, sounds like you are figuring it out & trying your best to manage as a “lefty”. What about your cute shirt? Maybe you could turn it into a sleeveless top. 🙂 What a gem of a hair stylist you have. She may need to come out of retirement just for you. There is a lot we don’t realize that goes into being a “glam girl” and Cas you seem to have a pretty good attitude about not sweating the small stuff. Keep pressing on my friend, I’m sure you’ll write a book on this one….. Hugs.

  2. My second thought after cringing at the view of the break was, O Lord, she is trying to finish her Masters, taking tests to qualify for a doctorate, she is up to her eyeballs with Cru City, this timing is not good but YOU are in control and have the best for her in mind. You love my friend more than I ever could and will guide perfectly. Give her your strength to face the many inconveniences as well as what could be major disappointments. She is yours, this is just so hard on many levels. Praying for your will, nothing more, nothing else.

Leave a Reply

