When Right Goes Wrong

I’m 5 weeks away from graduating with my Master’s Degree, I’ve applied for a PhD program which requires that I take (thus prepare for) the MAT. I’m 13 pages into a 25 page research paper, and 5.5 lectures away from finishing my last class. I’m in the midst of my busiest travel season for Cru, and I love my job.

I had a well-planned, carefully orchestrated agenda. Each day between now and December 13, like a domino, set to fall just so.

And then I fell – slipped on wet-like-ice pavement, and broke my wrist…my right wrist…the wrist that holds the hand that supports the fingers that write – research papers, click answers on MATs, finals, emails, tweets, and long-neglected blogs.

This is my left-handed, three-fingered journal of a journey I did not plan to take.

mphoto (4)

8 thoughts on “When Right Goes Wrong

  1. So sorry to hear about this mishap which totally interrupted your final plans of finishing your Masters. You’ve worked so hard to come to this bump in the road or should I say slip on the pavement. Your X-Ray looks like a pretty bad break. Do you know your surgery date yet? Maybe you could dictate the rest of your work. Siri will help you I bet. 🙂 love u dear friend

  2. Oh my goodness Cas!!! I am so so sorry to read about your break:( That must have hurt!!! I cringed when I saw the x-Ray pic…yeesh! All this during such a busy time in your life. I love you my friend and will pray for you. Do you have a cast on?? No need to reply…I know it’s hard right now to type. Just know I’m giving you a virtual hug and praying for you!

    Love Bincy

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. So sorry to hear of your broken right wrist. May God give you the grace to put your hand (left hand, I guess) into His hand so that the relational glory that you experience with Him will give you the comfort needed for a time such as this. Look up and notice His face shining upon you and the great joy and pleasure he is experiencing in oneness with you.
    Physically, emotionally, and mentally it hurts but God gives joy in the midst of sadness and pain.
    This is a path we all walk down – but for most of us it is temporary, but necessary, in order for His joy to fully abide in us.
    He will guide and direct you in the way in which you will go. But be sure your hand is firmly in His for that is the purpose of life and where the ultimate joy will be experienced. That is more important than a Masters degree or a Doctorate.
    Your character will weather this storm well. You are a person of character and in previous storms in your life you have reflected His image in oneness with Him.
    Character is more important than competence!
    Who you are is more important than what you do!
    Relational glory with Him is the goal. And right now that is the real task before you. Learn form Him, grow in Him, and praise Him.
    Get some rest, take time to heal, grieve and be sad, but know that God is one with you in the midst of this. Continue to abide in Him.
    My prayers are with you that His grace will be sufficient and you will have a speedy recovery!

  4. Wow – how many different paths the Lord takes us on – often NOT what we would have chosen. I love that you know our Lord like you do, and are trusting Him with this strange twist. He has done this in your life before. I still remember when you came home from Russia, and the verse that was encouraging you then was I Peter 4:12-13 – “Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery ordeal among you which comes upon you for your testing, as though some strange thing were happening to you; but to the degree that you share the sufferings of Christ, keep on rejoicing; so that also at the revelation of His glory, you may rejoice with exultation.” Thank you for letting us share in this. We can join together in praying that we would all learn how to keep on rejoicing.

  5. Oh Cas – I’m SO sorry to hear this news. But join me in the “Change of Course” Club! Together we will see His hand guide and provide for us in new and amazing ways. The journey is not carefully planned out ~ so we have no choice but look to His provision on a minute by minute basis. Praise God! We are exactly where He wants us~ completely dependant on Him. How does He get our attention and draw us to His footstool? By change….of course! 🙂 Sending love, prayers and huge, healing hugs~ M

  6. Cas, sorry to hear of your injury. Stay the course and wishing you many rewards! Miss your blogging. I had no idea you were studying and preparing for your masters and next PHD! That’s huge! Cheering for you!

  7. Cas, What horrible news. I feel so bad for you and I am sure it must have been very painful. I will pray that the Lord will give you extra strength and quick healing. May God comfort you during this time.

Leave a Reply

