Live Dead :: The Paradox

58216282_b473fbf9d7

“You’ve got this!” I was determined to carry out my summer duties with self-confidence and assurance. BUT every single day He reminded me that I am not in control. He is.

He rules over every minute of every day (Psalm 103:19).

Most mornings in June and July I’d wake up literally shaking. Nervous about all the things that needed to get done in order for the next thing to move forward in order for the end result to meet made-up expectations.  Every morning, as I’d read LIVE DEAD, The Lord would remind me, “I will never leave you, nor will I ever forsake you” (Hebrew 13:5).

Daily He’d say, “Cas, dearest idiot (no, that wasn’t Him that was me), even if these well laid plans end in shambles and utter ruin I will redeem them – and you. I always make things new.”

He’d sing to me the song of the gospel.

You see, the paradox of living dead means that as we relinquish our rights and well-crafted plans and high and mighty control, when we submit ourselves completely to His all-knowing, all-powerful, and ever-present Spirit, and when we allow SELF to take its last breath…THEN we can actually experience, intimately, the reality of His companionship, and life, as it was meant to be lived.

In John 14 Jesus prepares the disciples for his absence and his presence by introducing the Spirit and revealing his name – Paracletos – which means Helper. The invisible, yet very real, Spirit of God comes alongside to strengthen, give wisdom, redirect, convict, forgive and encourage.

I don’t know about you, but I need this kind of help. I just hate to admit it.

I.HATE.BEING.OUT.OF.CONTROL.

”Living Dead, weirdly, takes the pressure off and brings freedom and life and a sense of expectancy. Seriously. He is with you and me. Immanuel – GOD with us.

You may wonder, “Once our spiffy lists and agendas are neatly laid on the altar, does everything then go smoothly? Painlessly? Effortlessly?”

No.

They go according to Plan.

2 thoughts on “Live Dead :: The Paradox

Leave a Reply

