Conversations in the Gospel of John :: Jesus & Promises

Allyson Lynch, another of the blessings in my life, is an English teacher, loves to write and read, and eat Chipotle. You’ll love reading her posts!

image

I’m a words person.  I studied English in college and teach it to teenagers ten months of the year.  I can’t get enough of Words with Friends.  I am a “Words of Affirmation” love language type.  And because I’m all about words, the words Jesus speaks are priceless to my heart, mind, and soul.

I’ve learned over the years that when I’m in God’s Word, I must seek out His promises.  Based on what is going on in the passage, I ask all sorts of questions to help those promises come into clearer focus.  What assurances is He making?  What truth is He communicating?  What does He want me to see about who He is and who I am in light of His character?

John 14-16 contains much of Jesus’s words; therefore, we can find many of God’s promises to us.  The one that I can’t get enough of today is verse 3 where Jesus says,

 “And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also.”

What is Jesus assuring His disciples (and you and me) of?  That He is coming back for us.  He has not abandoned us and He has a plan.  What is that plan?  That we will live forever with Him in Heaven.  How much time I spend thinking that all that is real in this life is what sits right in front of me today, and to be honest, what’s sitting there, whatever it may be, can be downright depressing.  But Jesus says this life isn’t it.  There’s a future for us, and it’s a glorious one because we’ll be with Him.  Focusing even more on the words, did you see that Jesus says he is specifically preparing “a place for you” and He will “take you to [himself]”?  What a personal, intimate Savior He is!  We are deeply, purposefully loved by Jesus.

I don’t know about you, but so often I find myself feeling anything but loved and cared for, paid attention to, or even worth that kind of time and energy.  Because of the love God demonstrated through Christ on the cross, the power that resurrected Him, and the gift of the Holy Spirit, we can be confident that all of those feelings are simply not true in light of the promises of God.

Look at the rest of John 14.  What promises can you find?  Be encouraged because “all the promises of God find their Yes” in Jesus Christ (2 Corinthians 1:20).

 

Allyson Lynch is a thirty-something Christ follower who leads a small group for women in their mid-twenties, a distinct privilege God has given her at The Summit Church.  You can find her happily cooking in her kitchen, voraciously reading blogs, obsessively watching 24 (she’s a little late to that bandwagon), and spending as much time as possible at the pool to beat the summer heat.

7 thoughts on “Conversations in the Gospel of John :: Jesus & Promises

  1. Hello I am so happy I found your blog page, I really found you by
    accident, while I was looking on Bing for something else,
    Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a marvelous post
    and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

  2. I do not even know how I stopped up here, but I assumed
    this publish used to be good. I don’t recognize who you are however certainly you are going to a well-known blogger if you aren’t already.
    Cheers!

  3. Heya are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world
    but I’m trying to get started and set up my own.
    Do you need any html coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

Leave a Reply

