Conversations in the Gospel of John :: I Want To See Jesus

Here’s another post from Jamie Warren – enjoy!

In John 12:21, some non-Jewish “God-fearers” told Philip that they wanted to see Jesus.  Wow, what a request! What did they expect I wonder? Did he meet their expectations? Did they like him?

I wonder sometimes, if I lived when Jesus walked the earth, would I have wanted to see Him? Would He have lived up to my expectations or would he have disappointed me somehow?

I wonder, do I want to see Him now? What does it even mean to “see Jesus”?

So, Philip told Andrew about the request, then, together they informed Jesus.  His reply, “The hour has come for the Son of Man to be glorified. Truly, truly I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit. Whoever loves his life loses it, and whoever hates his life in this world will keep it for eternal life. If anyone serves Me, He must follow Me; and where I am, there will my servant be also. If anyone serves me, the Father will honor him.”

I doubt this was the response Philip and Andrew expected, don’t you?  They’d been waiting for Jesus to reveal himself as the King, and instead he’s talking about wheat and death and dying, following and service.

Importantly, the fact that these non-Jews were seeking Him was indication that the time had come for Him to endure the cross and to pay the ultimate penalty for sin. Jesus came as Savior for all of mankind, not just the Jews. This is not what Philip and Andrew expected – at all.

When I go to Jesus and ask to see Him, I often don’t get what I expect. I’ll sometimes complain about someone or some circumstance because I want Him to change that person or somehow alter circumstances to fit my needs. Most of the time what Jesus wants to change is me and He uses difficulties and the unexpected to teach me about His grace.

“Thank you, Lord, that you do not give me what I expect but, instead, you give me what I need: to see You…just as You are.”

Lake

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Conversations in the Gospel of John :: I Want To See Jesus

Leave a Reply

