Conversations in the Gospel of John :: Something Greater

This week Ashley Baker is my guest blogger. She and I have enjoyed several deep conversations about life at Caribou Coffee over the past few years. I love her tender heart and her longing to follow Jesus wherever He asks her to go. Ashley’s task this week is to lead us through John Chapter Eight – Jesus, The Light of the World. Enjoy! P.S. Ashley is the third beauty from the left. 

They began to go out. (v. 8) Who were they? And why were they leaving?

They were the scribes and Pharisees who threw a woman caught in the act of adultery into the presence of Jesus to be stoned to death. The Old Testament Law commanded this type of punishment. While in this century we no longer stone people; most of us would agree adultery is wrong, and yet truly, none of us are exempt from “wrong doings” or sin. I could give you a long list of my wrongdoings. But, I’ve come to realize that all of my wrongdoings are rooted in my belief system. I don’t believe God is good or good  enough. I often fear that his plans will fail; therefore, I must manage my own life.

When, in reality, I need Him to rip off the bandage of unbelief. I need Him to expose my wounded heart to His goodness.

As the story continues, the Pharisees ask Jesus, “Shouldn’t we stone her?” Jesus, unexpectedly, replies,  “He who is without sin among you, let him be the first to throw a stone at her. When they heard it, they began to go out one by one.” (v. 7)

Could it be that like me, this woman was stuck in the pit of unbelief? Did she believe God could actually set her free from her slavery to sin?

When Jesus asked,  “Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?”  She replied “No one Lord.” I think it’s interesting that Jesus asked her that question. She had to announce to herself out loud “No one condemns me.” Jesus caused her to speak the truth to herself.

So, for those of you who don’t believe God is really good, or for others of you who are stuck in the pit of unbelief,  remember Jesus’ last words to the woman, 225688_755308663472_25105698_38726158_3499798_n “Neither do I condemn, go sin no more.” For me, this simply means to believe. 

 

Leave a Reply

