Conversations in the Gospel of John :: It’s Not About Me

The beautiful thing about community is encountering beautiful women who passionately follow Jesus. Sabrina McCutchan is part of the community of women at Summit RDU, Michelle’s good friend, and someone I hope to get to know. Read on and enjoy! 

 

sabrina2

It’s not about me.

This is one of those things I have to learn again. And again. And again. My innate human self-centeredness makes it hard to believe, and being constantly told how wonderful I was my whole life (only child; it happens) didn’t help retention. More than once I’ve found myself falling into the pit of works righteousness. And it is a pit – my inevitable failure to earn righteousness triggers an overpowering sense of emptiness and loss. It was with that feeling that I came to John 4 today, and read:

37Thus the saying ‘One sows and another reaps’ is true. 38I sent you to reap what you have not worked for. Others have done the hard work, and you have reaped the benefits of their labor.” 39Many of the Samaritans from that town believed in him because of the woman’s testimony, “He told me everything I ever did.”

Because of the woman’s testimony. This lady has some, uh, questionable domestic arrangements that everyone in her town knows about. But she’s out telling her whole town that she just met the Christ, and people believe her – people are saved! Jesus Himself is sitting right there at the well, but God uses this broken woman instead of His perfect Son to speak the first words of truth to this lost people. What a demonstration that the gospel’s power is not contingent upon the purity of the vessel!

For me, this reminder cuts deep. It means that on the good days I don’t get credit for God’s miraculous power, and it means that on the bad ones, I’m not a failure. Those truths both point me away from myself and towards a God who is loving enough and powerful enough to swap my sinfulness with His purity. They remind me to rely on Him, not myself.

Sabrina McCutchan is a Summit small group leader and economics researcher at Duke. She spends her free time trying to be creative and mostly failing miserably, but the occasional DIY project and short story come out okay. Sabrina also speaks Chinese – 你们好! – and enjoys volunteering at local schools.

 

Leave a Reply

