Guest Post : Jan Ragains, “Trust.Call Out To Jesus”

Jan Ragains is one of my dearest RDU friends. I love her walk with the Lord and want to share her with you. Enjoy her post!

I am prone to worry and fret. There are days when the never ending task of nurturing, tending and feeding my three kids feels as if it requires more time in the day than that which is allotted to me…then there is the grocery shopping, budgeting, making wise financial decisions for the future, being creative and intentional in my marriage, checking in on my friends and extended family, etc. If I hit just one speed bump in my life, I suddenly feel as if it is all this huge weight that’s crashing in on me! My flesh enters into a chaotic frenzy, grasping for control. If I choose, in the midst of it all, to literally get down on my knees and open my hands to Him…knowing He has me, trusting He has assigned me my portion…my heart settles and I am not an anxious, crazy, nervous person. Trust in Him delivers me from the trap of anxiety. Psalm 31:4, “Free me from the trap that is set for me, for you are my refuge.”

Does your life exemplify trust? Trust testifies Christ’s abundant love in our lives. How do you actively trust? When in conflict with someone dear to you such as your husband, your toddler, your teenager, your roommate, have you ever withdrawn from the conflict to worship Him and allow Him to quiet you?  On our knees, we are reminded that we are not our own. On our knees, we remember that Christ secured our “place” in this world and the next with His death in exchange for ours. Whatever “injustice” we are fighting to correct dims in importance! He holds us securely.

Do you struggle to trust Jesus? Do you question the circumstances He has given you in your life?  Psalm 16:5, “Lord you have assigned me my portion and my cup; you have made my lot secure.”

My mom reminded me on the phone just the other day to just say, “Jesus” when I’m feeling overwhelmed or overcome. A verbal proclamation of my dependence on Him! A request for His presence! A banner over my shortcomings! An admission that I’m struggling and long for His peace! Why do we assume we must spend an hour on our knees or in His word every time we long for His presence? He is the mighty Creator that holds us together. He is always there for us and He promises to quiet us with His love. Zephaniah 3:17,The Lord your God is with you. He is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will QUIET you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.”

 

2 thoughts on “Guest Post : Jan Ragains, “Trust.Call Out To Jesus”

Leave a Reply

