The Fog

Admittedly, a 7:30am Greek class isn’t, in and of itself, all that appealing. It requires that I crawl out of bed before 5:30 aim my Beetle for seminary before the sun comes up, and use my pitifully weak brain in ways that feel impossible so early in the day. However, there’s nothing quite as beautiful as the sun peering over the horizon in brilliant hues of morning color. One long stretch of my drive lifts and falls along a country highway and passes over Falls Lake. Often blankets of fog, settled just above the still water, linger until the sun is warm enough to melt them away. It’s as if the lake huddles under the warmth of nature’s blanket not quite ready for the day to begin. I’ve come to look forward to the stretch of road that awaken my heart to worship and as I watch God’s creation greet the day.

This morning I’m home, enjoying Easter Break. As the 9:30am sun warmed my face :-), I  listened to Pandora and Tenth Avenue North’s, “By Your Side.” The words caused me to reflect on the fog that blankets my heart sometimes. My heart strives, tries, searches,  for what is already mine in Jesus because of the cross and as a result of the resurrection. I need to wake up, throw the blankets aside, and look!

“Look at these hands at my side
They swallowed the grave on that night
When I drank the world’s sin
So I could carry you in and give you life
I wanna give you life.”

As I read the Word the brilliance of the gospel burst through as I read Paul’s closing word to the Romans:

“Now to Him who is able to establish you according to my gospel and the preaching of Jesus Christ, according to the revelation of the mystery which has been kept secret for long ages past, but now is manifested, and by the Scriptures of the prophets, according to the commandment of the eternal God, has been made known to all nations, leading to obedience of faith. To the only wise God, through Jesus Christ, be the glory forever. Amen (Romans 16:25-27).”

4 thoughts on “The Fog

  1. Early mornings are often amazing and usually make me glad to see what God is up to at that hour.
    Thank you Lord for special treats!

  2. “Look at these hands at my side
    They swallowed the grave on that night
    When I drank the world’s sin
    So I could carry you in and give you life
    I wanna give you life.”

    I love this!

Leave a Reply

