289 : Thru A Dirty Window – In His Hands

“But as for me, I trust in You, O LORD,
I say, “You are my God.”
My times are in Your hand….” (Psalm 31:14-15)

Each day is a new opportunity to trust, to believe these words are true, “My times are in Your hand.” I admit, it’s hard to comprehend that One as powerful as God is concerned and involved with the trivial details of our earthly existence. Yet, if He isn’t it would surely make Him less than an all-knowing, all-loving, ever-present and deeply personal God.

If He isn’t intimately acquainted with all of our ways then answered prayer is diminished to mere coincidence; incomprehensible peace in the midst of chaos is  written off as a healthy perspective on reality; the anchor called hope rests on the ground of human reason.

Life in the now is unraveling. Like the debt ceiling and unemployment the evidence mounts. What once appeared to be safe and secure has been revealed for what it really is – an allusion, a fraud. We try, desperately, to grab hold and take control, but it’s out of our hands.

Jesus comforts His followers with these words, “Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you, not as the world gives, do I give unto you” (John 14:23). He promises peace no matter how out of balance life gets. He never leaves, never gives up, is always in absolute control. Our times are in His hands – loving, merciful, kind, just, good, and perfect hands.

“But as for me…” I vacillate between trust and terror. One minute I’m enamored by His beauty reflected in the deep blue sky and am thrilled by His power evidenced in the birth of a friend’s healthy baby. The next, I’m shaken by life’s uncertainty and have forgotten miraculous answers to prayer and soothing moments of His sweet presence.

It’s safe to say that we’re the ones that teeter totter on the edge of unbelief, but He remains the steady – He never changes. He is worthy of our trust, and is patient while we learn.

“You are my God, my times are in Your hand….”

One thought on “289 : Thru A Dirty Window – In His Hands

Leave a Reply

