300 : Thru A Dirty Window – Help

 

As a child I grew up in Denver with the majestic outline of the Rockies always to the west. If I ever lost my bearings I simply looked toward the mountains to help me find my way. When we lived in Portland, on clear sunny days (however few and far between) I could see Mount Hood standing tall above all else – always to my east. This morning the clouds overshadow Horsetooth, but I know the “tooth-shaped” rock formation is right there – to the west.

In North Carolina I have no idea which way is what – I have no reference point, nothing to point the way. Psalm 121 says, “I look up to the mountains-does my help come from there? My help comes from the Lord who made heaven and earth. He will not lot you stumble; the One who watches over you will not slumber.” In those moments, hours, days, weeks when we have no reference point, when we don’t know which direction to turn – our help comes from the Lord. During those meetings, or in that relationship, or after making a scary decision, our help comes from the maker of heaven and earth!

He’s more majestic than the mountains to the west of Denver,  grander than Mount Hood to the east of Portland. Yes, there are times when His presence seems veiled by the grey clouds of circumstance, but He’s always right here ready to listen, able to guide, ever-present.

 

 

Leave a Reply

