302 : Thru A Dirty Window – Memories

We just settled into an apartment (temporarily) in Fort Collins, CO. We’ve spent nearly every summer since 1982 here doing the things CCC staff do – run student projects, study and teach the Word, learn to lead, drink coffee, catch up with friends, gain vision and perspective for the next few years, and worship. We’ll be here for seven weeks.

We live in Ram’s Village, a stone’s throw from campus. In nearly every direction is a memory. I backed Bob’s car into someone’s fender the second week of our marriage in the parking lot of Parmalee Hall (that went over big). I covered my first grey hairs at a salon on Elizabeth Street. Some students on the CSU project and I played a major practical joke on Todd and John (and all the guys) in Cambridge House apartments. I enjoyed paddle-boating, reading my Bible, and watching fireworks at City Park.

I’ve celebrated anniversary #1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 23, 25, 27 and now, 29 here. I’ve ridden a bike to Horsetooth Reservoir more than once, and ran my first 5K along the foothills. I’ve surrendered things over to Jesus in the great hall of Moby Gym, and entrusted the lives of friends and family to the Lord there too.

I grew up in Denver and spent most of my childhood summers fishing with my grandma along the Colorado River, in a little boat floating on Red Feather Lake (a pastime, needless to say to most of you, I do not enjoy as an adult). Sometimes it’s like I feel her presence when I’m in Colorada (as she would say).

So this summer I sit and try to work. Colorado clouds float by my window, the dry breeze wafts through the screen, and I look forward to making memories once again. City Park has been spruced up since my last visit, and I’m aching to paddle around the pond and sit with Jesus out there once again.

I’m preparing to teach a class I’ve entitled A Beautiful Savior. Maybe, with His help, the class will serve to build meaningful memories for someone this summer.

 

2 thoughts on “302 : Thru A Dirty Window – Memories

  1. love it Cas! Will be praying for you as you lead others in discovering more about our Beautiful Savior!

Leave a Reply

