303 : Thru A Dirty Window – Real Time & Upside Down

Living for Jesus in real time isn’t easy – we all get that, right? Life in the now regularly throws a curve ball. Sometimes the sideways spin catches us unaware, and other times we can feel it coming, we steady ourselves, planting our feet firmly in place. We keep our eye fixed on the ball to prevent a smack upside the head.

I faced one of those more predictable wily balls recently. I prepared and prayed. And in answer to my request for wisdom the Lord reminded me (as I read Tim Keller’s book King’s Cross) that kingdom living is upside down, unlike anything the world has ever seen. You know the “turn the other cheek, if your enemy is thirsty give him a drink, if someone steals your coat – give him your shirt and shoes too” kind of living. As image bearers of the King we face life’s smacks with a more humble stance. I think it means believing the best when we’re absolutely certain of the worst, being honest and truthful even if it’s painful for us and the other, showing preference and extending grace over and over again. All of these things (and more) even when it’s thoroughly undeserved.

Upside down living is not slow and easy, straight over the plate. But it’s easier to face when we focus on the One who loved (and loves) us at our absolute worst, instructs us with perfect truth, endured great pain on our behalf, and extends thoroughly undeserved grace and forgiveness.

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in Him will not perish but will have eternal life.”

 

One thought on “303 : Thru A Dirty Window – Real Time & Upside Down

  1. I am a fellow Christian and wanted to see your blog. When I first started this challenge of post a day you were in my EXCEL file of blogs I liked. I came here b/c your blog linked me here. I am very glad I did. This blog has great stuff and wonderfully inspired by Christ.

Leave a Reply

