305 : Thru A Dirty Window – Beyond the Horizon

The inability to see beyond the horizon allows for all sorts of speculation. For example, way, way back in the dark ages it was believed, and taught as absolute truth, that the world was flat. Seeing beyond that distant boundary was impossible, so how could they know?

Do you ever speculate about the other side of the horizon’s line? In every stage of life I’ve wondered what the next one holds. Yet, even when I climb to the highest point where I can look in every direction, or extend my reach to touch the edge of the future, or strain my eyes catch a glimpse of what’s ahead, I never know what’s around the corner.

I took my walk with Jesus today and laid out my questions regarding the future, and queried about the present. The Spirit’s response, “Don’t lose heart in doing good, for in due time you’ll reap if you don’t grow weary” (Galatians 6:9).

So, the Lord, who knows every step we take, every thought we think, every breath we breathe, knows when we’re a millimeter away from losing heart. He’s well aware that life in the now is tempting that way.

My scope is so tiny, so utterly limited, but He knows what the future holds, both in the now and not yet. He consoles with a promise full of hope, “In due time you’ll reap if you don’t grow weary.”

Leave a Reply

