314 : Thru A Dirty Window – The Now & Not Yet

It took some time to settle my mind, to set aside my phone, to ignore my list of trivial, and yet seemingly so pressing, tasks, and to get into the groove with Jesus today. I so needed time to reflect and pray, to process and recalibrate my thinking — to set my mind on the things above.

There are elements of my life and work that I allow to shake “self” free and run wild. Today the Lord helped me lasso me, myself, and I back into perspective. What I love about Him is His willingness to incline His ear and listen to my heart’s wanderings and wonderings. What I love about His Word is its sharp blade that carves and shapes with such a gentle touch.

I’ve been reading Job, Isaiah, and Luke lately. Job keeps it real. Isaiah keeps His awesomeness front and center. Luke brings Jesus to life. What stood out to me today, after a good hour of conversation with God about my stuff, and some intercession for those who’ve been impacted by tornadoes and tsunamis, was recognizing (again) that something far greater awaits us beyond the now.

Every time I open the Word I’m reminded of His kingdom. We need to regularly let the Lord use His Word to speak truth into our lives. We need the daily reminder that true hope in Jesus will never disappoint. Only He is sure and steadfast. He is the one and only anchor for our souls.

For now:

“But you are a tower of refuge to the poor, O Lord,
a tower of refuge to the needy in distress.
You are a refuge from the storm
and a shelter from the heat (Isaiah 25:4).”

Not yet:

In Jerusalem, the Lord of Heaven’s Armies
will spread a wonderful feast
for all the people of the world.
It will be a delicious banquet
with clear, well-aged wine and choice meat.
There he will remove the cloud of gloom,
the shadow of death that hangs over the earth.
He will swallow up death forever!
The Sovereign Lord will wipe away all tears.

He will remove forever all insults and mockery
against his land and people.
The Lord has spoken!

In that day the people will proclaim,
“This is our God!
We trusted in him, and he saved us!
This is the Lord, in whom we trusted.
Let us rejoice in the salvation he brings! (Isaiah 25:6-9)”

Leave a Reply

