318: Thru A Dirty Window – Twisters

Angry twisters screamed through North Carolina last weekend hurling and twirling pigs and people, rending whole houses – and consequently entire lives – to smithereens.

Ordinary life changed in one violent instant. Sobering, isn’t it?

Jesus said, 46 “So why do you keep calling me ‘Lord, Lord!’ when you don’t do what I say? 47 I will show you what it’s like when someone comes to me, listens to my teaching, and then follows it. 48 It is like a person building a house who digs deep and lays the foundation on solid rock. When the floodwaters rise and break against that house, it stands firm because it is well built. 49 But anyone who hears and doesn’t obey is like a person who builds a house without a foundation. When the floods sweep down against that house, it will collapse into a heap of ruins (Luke 6:46-49).”

So, maybe it goes without saying, but just in case: Jesus gives us a (not so subtle) hint about life on this earth: “When the floodwaters rise and break against the house….” Suffering is inevitable in this fallen world, the floodwaters of life will rise, tornados will twist our lives into chaos, but there is One who stands firm and never changes.

As I read these verses recently I was struck by the simple truth laid ever so plainly across the page. For a long time I took this passage to mean that I needed to strive to build my spiritual house upon a rock. I needed to do, do, do everything I possibly could to prepare for the inevitable storm.

But what Jesus is saying here is so much simpler. When we come to Him (an invitation), listen to His teaching (we stop, pay attention), and then follow it (obey, do what He says) our foundation is set to withstand even the fiercest storm. And, He uses life’s twisters to reinforce our faith – in Him.

Wah lah! There it is again – it’s not about me and all about Him.

Leave a Reply

