319 : Thru A Dirty Window – He Reigns in the Rubble

Before I snapped my computer closed for the night I received a forwarded email with an update out of Japan. Kristen and her husband Cam live and share the gospel in the Tokyo area witnessing first-hand the devastation of the earthquake and tsunami. Although they don’t live in the worst hit areas, they’re lives have been forever altered. Kristen wrote asking for prayer. Incredibly, today in Tokyo a student conference called CHANGE started (little did the planners of this conference know the significance of  that name).

90 of the 130 registered students showed up from all over the area – can you imagine? Kristen writes “The worship is amazing.”

Worship in the wake of distress and disaster is the vibrant melody of deep faith. When everything else is stripped away Jesus comes into view in a whole new way.

So, I stopped myself from crawling into bed and prayed for these 90 students. I prayed the Lord would calm their troubled hearts, strengthen their grip, and sharpen their resolve. God reigns in the rubble. Yes! Even in the catastrophic now, He reigns.

I thought, again, of Psalm 46:1-5. Plopped right in the middle of earthquakes and mountains slipping into the heart of the sea, we’re reminded of the unshakable, unchanging, glorious, heavenly not yet. He assures us that His sacred home, His kingdom will never be destroyed.

1 God is our refuge and strength,
always ready to help in times of trouble.
2 So we will not fear when earthquakes come
and the mountains crumble into the sea.
3 Let the oceans roar and foam.
Let the mountains tremble as the waters surge!

4 A river brings joy to the city of our God,
the sacred home of the Most High.
5 God dwells in that city; it cannot be destroyed.
From the very break of day, God will protect it.

Jesus said, Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in me. There is more than enough room in my Father’s home. If this were not so, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you? When everything is ready, I will come and get you, so that you will always be with me where I am (John 14:1-3).

Pray with me for these 90 students – on Thursday they’re headed out to tell anyone and everyone about Jesus, about His peace, His love, His forgiveness.

Pray His kingdom comes and His will is done even in the rubble.


2 thoughts on “319 : Thru A Dirty Window – He Reigns in the Rubble

  1. Love reading your blogs….you express often my thoughts and yet you also give me a different perspective on a lot of things. I have agreed with your prayers and prayed as you have prayed for Japan and these students in particular….that there would be many would be willing to listen as they are faithful to go and tell….that many lives would be changed in the here and now and for eternity.

  2. Our hope is built on nothing less than Jesus blood and righteous…we wholly lean on Jesus name. May his glory and comfort spread over Japan as no Tsunami ever can. cec

Leave a Reply

