322: Thru A Dirty Window – Aged to Perfection

I’ve been in south Florida for the past few days. It’s the wintertime hot-spot for retired folks, and I can certainly understand why. While here I’ve observed a ballooning number of botoxed-lips and particularly (and purposefully) inflated body parts. One 75 year old woman, due to the miracle of inflation didn’t look a day over 50. I don’t want to blow it out of proportion…but most part Americans don’t grow old gracefully.

It got me thinking, and admitting, that growing older isn’t easy. In fact, I decided the other day a little botox might help my furrowed brow look a little plumper and me a teeny weeny bit younger. Why do I care? Why am I self-conscious about my sun-spotted hands? Why do I dye my hair to cover the gray? When I compare my stamina with my 30 year old friends, why do I feel so AWARE of the fact that if I’m not careful I might slip and fall if I try to keep up?

I work hard to keep up with Glee and American Idol so I seem hip and with it. Then I’m faced with reality when someone much younger than I asks me (really slowly), “Are you on Face-Book?” What’s up with that? Do they think I’m 90 or something? Seriously! Just a few days ago a younger friend asked, “Do you text?” I flipped out my iPhone and showed her – I even have an APP for that!

The sure sign of age and insecurity is blogging about it for all the world to see. Sigh.

Every single day, ever so slightly, and not so slowly we’re getting older. When you reach your 50’s the inevitable horizon is not so far from view, when you’re in your 20’s or 30’s it’s out there even though it seems way out of reach.

No matter your age, in the now, the outer man is decaying – shriveling, shrinking, crinkling and popping. Yet, we have the opportunity to allow our inner man to be renewed day by day. We can grab on, with gusto, to the security of the not yet. We must look beyond the now, beyond the sags and seams and hobble forward, reaching in our souls, clinging in our hearts to Jesus and all that He has waiting for us “beyond the sunset”.

“The righteous will flourish like a palm tree,
they will grow like a cedar of Lebanon;
13 planted in the house of the LORD,
they will flourish in the courts of our God.
14 They will still bear fruit in old age,
they will stay full of sap and very green,
15 proclaiming, β€œThe LORD is upright;
he is my Rock, and there is no wickedness in him.”

One thought on “322: Thru A Dirty Window – Aged to Perfection

Leave a Reply

