324 : Thru A Dirty Window – Roller Coaster

From the 15th floor of our hotel I look out over an amusement park just a stone’s throw from SeaWorld. For as long as I choose to watch a roller coaster car, filled with screaming humans, slowly climbs a steep, steep, steep incline – I feel the tension, the an–tici–paa–tion–! from the couch in my room. As it juuusssttt reaches the tippy top, it snakes over the peak and quickly drops down, down out of sight, and like a speed ball rises up another steep, steep incline and disappears again. It goes in circles and swirls around a loop-de-loop. Up and down and all around.

It takes strain for those heavy-duty chains, hooked to the other-world looking cars, to get you where you’re going and the thrill is as much in the anticipation, as in the fast ride down. The jerk-your-neck turn warns you a surprise is coming, so you brace for more. All the while you know it’s almost over. And, you might even want to do it again.

Life’s roller coaster is a lot less predictable. We have lots of high highs and low lows, and the ride in-between jerks us around, and prepares us for what’s around the corner, or might take us completely off guard. Only on this side of not yet it’s a faith ride. We learn to trust our Maker even when it feels like our stomach has arrived in our throat, even when there’s no end in sight.

On the days when I feel like I’m on the roller coaster ride called LIFE, hanging on with all I’ve got, I’m grateful for the Savior. He never leaves, nothing can snatch me out of His hand, nothing goes haywire without His express knowledge, and every bend and curve has the opportunity to reveal something fresh and new about the Master of Life’s Roller-coaster. You just have to ride with your eyes open!

 

 

 

One thought on “324 : Thru A Dirty Window – Roller Coaster

  1. Ugh! I can no longer ride the coasters that take me upside down – gone are the days of owning an iron stomach. Thanks for the post – so true. Many days I’m barely holding on- but then of course, he’s never let go of me.

Leave a Reply

