326 : Thru A Dirty Window – Log Jam

“Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Brother, let me take out the speck that is in your eye,’ when you yourself do not see the log that is in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take out the speck that is in your brother’s eye” Luke 6:42

There’s a log jam in my putrid little heart this week. I hate to admit it, but I’ve been busy picking specks out of eyes that don’t belong to me, and tripping over the log in my own. I so look forward to the day when the window in my heart isn’t dirty any longer, when the logs in my eye don’t block my view of Jesus and His righteousness.

Imagine the not yet when loving one another is natural – like falling off a log.

In this same passage Jesus says, “Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful” Luke 6:26. What struck me, as I bemoaned the tall pile of logs in my heart, I was struck by the mercy of the Father. I made a list of all the ways He’s merciful toward me – His forgiveness is absolute, His love is deep and unconditional, He’s patient and generous while I learn to “do unto others as I hope they’ll do unto me.”

Mercy means not getting what we do deserve. Whew. We deserve His righteous judgment, but instead what we get is His love and grace. I think this is what it means to experience the Gospel in the now.

2 thoughts on “326 : Thru A Dirty Window – Log Jam

  1. My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different web page and
    thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to finding out about your web page for a second time.

  2. Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your website, how can i subscribe for a
    blog site? The account aided me a acceptable deal.
    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept

Leave a Reply

