#327 : Thru A Dirty Window – Holy Footprints

“God wants us to be present where we are. He invites us to see and to hear what is around us and, through it all to discern the footprints of the holy.” (Prayer, by Richard Foster)

I’m trying! It’s not at all easy to free myself from all sorts and forms of distraction. I sit to spend time, in peace and quiet, with Jesus and suddenly the day’s duties forcefully push, relentlessly shove, and rudely elbow their way through to the forefront of my mind. In a matter of nano-seconds my thoughts yanked down circuitous paths, seem to go nowhere fast. All the while the little time I have ticks away. Tick, tick, tick.

Jesus said, “I tell you the truth, anyone who sneaks over the wall of a sheepfold, rather than going through the gate, must surely be a thief and a robber! But the one who enters through the gate is the shepherd of the sheep. The gatekeeper opens the gate for him, and the sheep recognize his voice and come to him. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. After he has gather his own flock, he walks ahead of them, and they follow him because they know his voice” (John 10:1-4)

It’s a funny thing this life in the now. We follow a Savior we cannot see and listen to a voice that’s audible, but in a very mysterious sort of way. As I read this passage I thought of Jesus turning the water into wine…the servants heard Jesus’ voice, obeyed His request to fill the jugs with water, and wah-lah – perfect, delicious, the best, wine. What if they hadn’t listened? Imagine, for a moment, their reaction because they did.

Consider the seasoned fishermen, sailing on their seasoned boat, caught in an ugly storm. Having nowhere else to turn, their seasoned experience called up short, they turned to Jesus. He rebuked the wind and the raging sea. “Be still!” The elements knew His voice. Do you, do I? Imagine, again if you will, the fishermen on that little boat. Awestruck, afraid, on their faces in worship. They were knee-deep in a holy footprint. I wish I could’ve been there.

Help me Lord Jesus. I so want Your voice to be familiar. Oh please, scatter distraction, soften the screams of daily life, help me to listen and discern Your holy footprints.

Leave a Reply

