329: Thru A Dirty Window – Divine Romance

Ah, Valentine’s Day. Chocolates, roses, romance. In the now this heart-shaped holiday promises either kisses and bliss, or letdown and heartbreak. We’ve all been both places at some point along the winding path of love. In college my theme song was “I’ve been cheated, been mistreated, when will I find real love?” Thank you Linda Ronstadt. Almost daily during my freshman year she and I belted those lyrics from the bottom of our hearts, amplified by a deodorant bottle.

After being cheated and mistreated, cheating and mistreating, and eventually left standing at the altar, alone, I ran smack dab into real love. A pure love that hopes all things, believes all things, endures all things, unconditional and relentless, casting out all fear – the love of God through His Son Jesus. Oh how desperate I was some 33 years ago…I ran, tried to hide, tried to drown my sorrows in wine and more fake love, but Jesus never gave up. I remember being on my knees, head buried in my ugly orange couch, crying out, desperate for answers, for relief. He was always there, present, strong, compassionate and full of kindness and mercy. Ahh, how good He was…and is.

Isn’t that what we all long for? Love that never gives up, never goes away, never causes us to wonder, “Will he be back?” His love never leaves. Ever.

I’m sitting in a hotel room in Seattle, Washington this Valentine’s Day. My sweet husband is showering, oblivious that today is Valentine’s Day…it’s ok. I know he loves me. Just not perfectly – nor is my love for him without flaw. BUT, as I reflect on love in the now, the Lord reminds me His love is boundless and beautiful.

Do you know the Phil Wickham song Divine Romance? Wrap yourself in the sweetness of His love. Happy Valentine’s Day.

The fullness of Your grace is here with me
The richness of Your beauty’s all I see
The brightness of Your glory has arrived
In Your presence God, I’m completely satisfied

For You I sing I dance
Rejoice in this divine romance
Lift my heart and my hands
To show my love, to show my love

A deep deep flood, an Ocean flows from You
Of deep deep love, yeah it’s filling up the room
Your innocent blood, has washed my guilty life
In Your presence God I’m completely satisfied

Leave a Reply

