337 : Thru A Dirty Window – Willy Nilly

“We pant through an endless series of activities with scattered minds and noisy hearts. We feel strained, hurried, breathless. Thoughts dart in and out of our minds with no rhyme or reason. Seldom can we focus on a single thing for long. Everything and anything interrupt our sense of concentration.”

In the now you and I live on the edge of willy nilly: –adverb 1. in a disorganized or unplanned manner; sloppily.

For example, I have about 100 different books stacked in various spots in my bedroom. I’m in the process of actively reading some and keep others at arm’s reach just in case. I’m writing a devotional book, crafting a written surprise for my niece, and storing paperbacks to swap. In addition to the hardbound distractions, I have three electronic devices (all Apples I might add) vying for my virtual attention. Now and then I even turn on my T.V.

I also have a full-time job, which requires a huge amount of travel, an enormous amount of time in meetings, hours on  the phone, interpersonal skills, heart-felt prayer, and seemingly constant attention. (Perhaps it’s obvious that today is Friday.)

I’m a wife and housekeeper, and an occasional (mediocre at best) cook. I’m also a 21st century laundress. Note: Bob panics if he thinks he’s going to run out of underwear. In nearly 30 years of marriage only once have I neglected this area of his life. I’ve never lived it down.

Anyway, I lean toward willy nilly. Even after I’ve re-sorted my stuff, straightened the stacks, cleared out my inbox, it doesn’t take long for chaos to take over again.

The threat of willy nilly is precisely why we need Jesus, and why it doesn’t hurt to have margins.

You know, if my blog didn’t have a margin, my post would run willy nilly all over the place. The box provided contains my words in a nice, easy to read format. We need margins…clear spaces on either side of the erratic to rest and listen for the voice of Jesus. He inclines His ear. He’s poised to soothe our wearied souls. He’ll massage our harried minds. He’s right here in the middle of willy nilly. He’ll help us brush away the debris.

Jesus said, “In the world you will have tribulation [and willy nilly], but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.”  His promises are little hints of what awaits beyond the dirty window.

Leave a Reply

