341 : Thru A Dirty Window – Golden Rule

My day began tentatively – especially after Bob’s admonition. So, I prayed, in earnest, about the week ahead and the Lord pointed my brain (and my heart) to The Golden Rule.

“Here is a simple, rule-of-thumb guide for behavior: Ask yourself what you want people to do for you, then grab the initiative and do it for them” (The Message).

Hmm…much easier said than done.

Sometimes I crave recognition. Many times other people deserve it far more than I. I long to know I’m appreciated. How often do I stop and thank the people around me for the numerous ways they serve me? I’m eager to know I’m valuable. Does my husband know how important he is? Are my friends aware of how significant they are, how much I love them? I want my co-workers and colleagues to believe the best in me when it looks like I’ve let them down. Do I always believe the best in them? Do I extend trust the same way I hope it’s extended to me? Do I listen instead of interrupt? Do I serve instead of being served? I want to do what I love and love what I do. Do I ever step aside so someone else can use their gifts and talents?

Wow. I break The Golden Rule all of the time.

In the now I fall far short. But, I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. In the now, by faith, I believe God is at work in me both to will and to work for His good pleasure…for His glory. Whatever good comes out of me is because of Jesus. When I yield my will to His little flecks of gold supernaturally show up and flow out. Beautiful Savior.

I’ll end by saying, it made a big difference to begin my day realizing how much I need Christ in my life. I end my day so thankful for the Gospel and my Savior. I look forward to the not yet when The Golden Rule will come naturally.

Leave a Reply

