347 : Thru A Dirty Window – Smells

I’m a sucker for perfume, always have been. My new favorite fragrance: Twirl by Kate Spade. The name is enough to make me want to, well, tWiRl!

I strongly believe it matters how one smells. I have a sensitive nose, so I notice.

The Hilton Garden Inn, my favorite hotel in Orlando, smells like my grandma’s house. I love staying there.

The airport security area in RDU and Orlando, leading up to the white plastic bins, smells like dirty feet. Lots, and lots, and lots of dirty feet.

At Disneyland, no matter what time of day you pass by the bakery, the aroma of freshly baked cookies wafts past your nose. It’s fake. Pumped in from a little machine in the basement. No joke. I saw it with my own eyes.

See, I told you. Smell matters.

Recently I read II Corinthians 2:14-16. It’s amazing what it says,

“But thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and manifests through us the sweet aroma of the knowledge of Him in every place. For we are a fragrance of Christ to God among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing: to the one an aroma from death to death, to the other an aroma from life to life And who is adequate for these things?”

Somehow, in a supernatural way, followers of Christ put off an aroma of the knowledge of God. Not because of anything we do, but because He lives in us – He always leads us in triumph (don’t miss that part)! To those who are being saved the scent is sweet, it smells like life. To those who are perishing the sweet aroma is a sour, putrid stench, just like death.

Isn’t that just like God? His Gospel appeals to all of our senses – even that delicate sense of smell.

So in the now I have to save my money to purchase a pretty bottle of Kate Spade’s latest,  I’m inclined to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn to remember my grandma’s house, the airport reminds me everybody’s feet stink, and everything at Disney is merely a facade. In the now we carry the aroma of the knowledge of God wherever we go.

Awesome.

In the not yet I’m pretty sure the fragrance of heaven is going to make us Twirl.



One thought on “347 : Thru A Dirty Window – Smells

Leave a Reply

