346 : Thru A Dirty Window – On Exercise

I need to get in shape. I sit at my computer most of the day and most of the night. I get up and go periodically throughout the day, only to stop to sit some more. I sit with students and colleagues over coffee, with my director over lunch. I sit on airplanes, in meetings, during conference calls. My heart rests at a nice pace all day long. Then I sleep. At least I can finally lie down.

I’ve been prattling on and on about my need to exercise. In good faith I take my running shoes with me when I travel. I even use them from time to time, but not consistently. “It’s too cold, I’m too tired, I’ll go tomorrow…blah blah blah.” I’ve declared war on my excuses.

RTP-Fitness is conveniently just around the corner, and in a very timely way, sent me an invitation to come and work-out. The place reminds me of Rocky Balboa’s gym…remember him? Suffice it to say, it’s not 24 Hour Fitness. But, it is affordable, very close, and enough with the excuses! I’m going and that’s that.

“I, Cas Monaco, do hereby commit to a regular routine of exercise.” You heard it here. Mark it down. Hold me accountable.

“16 Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. 17 For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. 18 So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” (II Corinthians 4:16-18)

In the now you and I are outwardly wasting away, growing older, becoming less pliable and strong. It’s a fact of life.  Inwardly we have the privilege and experience the miracle of, being renewed day by day. The light and momentary affliction of life, the need to exercise, eat right, take care, persevere through a step cardio class (among other far greater trials) achieves for us an eternal weight, something glorious, though unseen.

We have to look beyond the dirty window (see post #349) in order to see the not yet.

I’m leaving in 10 minutes. I’m going to look beyond the shabby fitness center, and think about results. I’m going to ignore myself in the mirror as I fumble through the routine. I’ll groan and whine, feel stiff and sore. I will also rejoice and look forward to the not yet when all things become new.

One thought on “346 : Thru A Dirty Window – On Exercise

Leave a Reply

