349 Posts Thru A Dirty Window

I’m going to take the WordPress challenge and post every day in 2011 starting today, January 16, 2011. I’m not sure if I have anything that interesting to write about every day, but I’m going to try, and my topic? Thru A Dirty Window-Life Between the Now and Not Yet.

On Christmas Day, while Bob cleaned up our dinner dishes, I sat at the table feeling the hang-over of the holidays. As I stared out the window I was distracted by the dirty outline of evaporated raindrops. My eyes wandered to every window in the dining room, they were all filthy. I wished they were clean.

I wished life was clean and sparkly too. Christmas depresses me sometimes. We don’t have kids and the season comes to life with kids, and falls like a thud without them. Commercials entice, the want in me grows strong and ugly. Santa is everywhere, Jesus is hidden somewhere between the mall and the manger. For a brief moment everything looked grimy.

Then I looked beyond the spattered glass, and remembered the now will never compare with the not yet. The Spirit whispered, “For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face, now I know in part, but then I shall know fully just as I also have fully known.”

No matter how hard we try to ignore the grime of life it’s there. I’m learning to see Him in the midst of what I wish was different…including my dirty windows.

Leave a Reply

